The Taxi chronicles

April 23, 2007 at 12:39 pm | Posted in TAXI !!! | 4 Comments

taxi.jpgIn the past week, thanks to the bus strike . I had to take a taxi twice. Once to the nearest railway station and the next day with my colleagues to Vashi .

 Incident 1 : Now see, usually we have to wait for a long time  outside office to find a taxi as the drivers do not like to go short distance, hence similarly on thursday night it was as it is a big task to find a taxi and then to look for one which was ready to go a short distance was even tougher.

 I saw a taxi approaching and waved my hand to stop it. He stopped a bit..I peeped in and said ” Bhaisaheb, Sewri station chalenge ? ” He considered for a second and after what seemed like an eternity said ” haan, chaliye ”

I sat inside and was just going to put my earphones on when he turned around and said ” aap ko malum hein, mujhe Sewri jaana nahi tha . ” ” magar aapke language ke wajah se maine haan bola”..he went on to add that he was from Banares and had been in bombay all his life. But in all his recent years of driving a taxi, no one of had never addressed him as Bhaisaheb and said ” Chalenge ” ..he went on to add that people here always said ” lega kya?” ..”chodega kya? “..

 My lesson — A little repect does a world of good to the outside and from within.

 Incident 2 : My colleagues and i were looking for a taxi and there was quite a bit of crowd waiting as well..Then we were pleasantly suprised to see 2 traffic cops seeing to that taxis that were going empty would stop and ferry these passengers to their destination. Soon enough a taxi was stopped for us and as we got in ..The cop asked me, were do you want to go..I said Vashi.. So he came close to us and said in hindi..This taxi driver is supposed to drop you all the way to vashi and within the allotted fare… If he drops you mid way or charges too much, just register a complaint on our website or sms us the taxi number and we will take action…

 I would love for things in bombay to be legalised like this and to see everyone abiding by the law ..

 Looking forward to a law fearing world actually. 🙂

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.